• 13-MAY-2017

  • Sant’Agata Bolognese/Silverstone

Postiglione and Cecotto win Race 1 of the Lamborghini Super Trofeo Europe at Silverstone

  • The Italian-Venezuelan crew of Imperiale Racing team in the lead since from pole to checkered
  • In the PRO-AM, first victory for Lagrange-Vanneste with Leipert Motorsport
  • Raffaele Giannoni of Automobili Tricolore scores a success in the AM class
Sant’Agata Bolognese/Silverstone, May 13, 2017.
A year ago, Vito Postiglione scored his first success in the Lamborghini Super Trofeo Europe at Silverstone. Today, the driver of the team Imperiale Racing has celebrated this anniversary with a pole position and then with a victory in the first of the two races of the second round of the season, together with his teammate, the seventeen-year-old Jonathan Cecotto, the son of the former F1 driver and champion on the two wheels, Johnny Alberto.
The Italian driver conquered the leading position at the start and remained in the lead until the pit-stop, when he handed over the wheel to the young Venzuelan who also did a perfect driving stint. The duo of VS Racing, formed by the Brazilian Raphael Abbate and Yuki Nemoto finished immediately behind them. Fifteen minutes before the end of the race, the Japanese driver overtook Axcil Jefferies (who had taken over the wheel from Rik Breukers in the  car of GDL Racing) and was then imitated by Loris Spinelli (Antonelli Motorsport), who completed the job of his teammate Mikaël Grenier and even tried to get the second place, but was then slowed down by a lapped driver.
However, the penalties imposed on Abbate and Nemoto, who did not respect the minimum time during the driver change, slipped the latter third, delivering the second position to Spinelli and Grenier, which however were excluded from the ranking for a technical irregularity.
Abbate and Nemoto then returned second, while Breukers and Jefferies finished third, with Gerhard Tweraser and Sergey Afanasiev (ArtLine Team Georgia) behind them. Fifth place for the Leipert Motorsport’s drivers Jan Kisiel and Seb Morris, the latter at his debut on the home track in the Lamborghini Super Trofeo Europa and author of the second laptime in the first qualifying round, but  then lingered at the start.
Sixth place overall and winner of the PRO-AM class for their teammates Niels Lagrange and Pieter Vanneste, who came in front of the duo of Antonelli Motorsport team formed by Gianluca Giraudi and eighteen-year-old Kikko Gabiati.
In the AM class,  Raffale Giannoni (Automobile Tricolore) scored his first success of the season. Thanks to a second place and the two wins at Monza, Andrej Lewandowski and Teodor Myszkowski (VS Racing) were confirmed as class leaders in the championship.
In the Lamborghini Cup, the team Van der Horst Motorsport scored a double success, thanks to the victory of Gerard Van der Horst, who is now leading the standings, and the second place scored by William Van Deyzen.

Race 2, also lasting 50 minutes with a rolling start and a mandatory pit-stop, will start tomorrow at 11:30 a.m. (12.30 CEST). The race can be followed in live streaming on http://squadracorse.lamborghini.com/live-streaming.
Jonathan Cecotto/Imperiale Racing (1st overall and in the PRO class): "At  Monza we got very close to success. Today, we scored this first victory. I’m very happy, also because I am going to start from the first row in Race 2".
Niels Lagrange /Leipert Motorsport (1st in the PRO-AM class): "It was a tough race, even if I started well. Vanneste, the whole team and I did a good job. This was only our third race in Lamborghini Super Trofeo Europe".
Raffaele Giannoni/Automobile Tricolore (1st in the AM class): "I’m happy, also about the overall position and the race pace, which was marked by excellent lap times. It’s a great weekend start".
Gerard Van der Horst/Van der Horst Motorsport (1st in the Lamborghini Cup): "Winning on a circuit like that of Silverstone is an exciting experience. I had been waiting for this result since the Monza weekend".
Lamborghini Super Trofeo – Calendario Europa 2017
Monza (ITA)21/23 Aprile
Silverstone (GBR)12/14 Maggio
Paul Ricard (FRA)23/25 Giugno
Spa (BEL)26/28 Luglio
Nürburgring (DEU)15/17 Settembre
Imola (ITA)16/17 Novembre
World Final
Imola (ITA)18/19 Novembre