• 04-APR-2017

  • Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Lamborghini To Start 2017 Super Trofeo Asia Series Season With Spectacular Double Header At Sepang

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia / April 3, 2017 Lamborghini’s world renown single make series the Super Trofeo returns to Sepang International Circuit this coming weekend in what is sure to be a thrilling and action packed double header, pitting drivers and teams in a heated battle for the sixth year running. The Sepang race weekend is the first of six Super Trofeo Asia series race fixtures this season, with the first five to be held at some of the continent’s most prestigious race tracks.

Sepang is a favorite fixture for the Lamborghini Super Trofeo, this years’ opening race marking the ninth time the series has visited the venue. Some of the series’ most important milestone highlights including the competition’s Asia debut in 2012 and the 2014 World Final were also held at the revered international circuit. Totaling just over 5.54km in length, Hermann Tilke’s top class track plays host to the Malaysian F1 Grand Prix and MotoGP events. This year’s Super Trofeo Malaysian stop will take place the same weekend as the Malaysian round of the Blancpain GT Series Asia, where Lamborghini will also be competing with a number of Huracán GT3.

The return of previous Super Trofeo champion and local hero Afiq Yazid, as well as veterans like Dilantha Malagamuwa of Sri Lanka and talented AM drivers like Andrew Haryanto of Indonesia guarantee intense competition for both old hands and rookies alike. Meanwhile, this year the Asia series has attracted keen interest from competitors in the European and Middle East Super Trofeo series, seeing entries from winner of the Middle East Lamborghini Cup class winner Gabriele Murroni and Young Drivers Program graduate and Middle East Pro class winner Rik Breukers, who will no doubt be putting the pressure on fellow competing graduates Afiq Yazid with Clazzio Racing and Armaan Ebrahim with Dilango Racing.  European teams taking part include Leipert Motorsport, FFF Racing Team and Team Lazarus. With the leaderboard open and a chance to get an early head start on the points ladder, all competitors will want to put in their best possible performance.

Racing in the championship is divided into separate podiums, recognizing the breadth of talent in the Super Trofeo field. After each race, there is a podium for the top three finishers in the Overall, Pro-AM, AM and Lamborghini Cup (for new drivers and rookies) classes. The championship provides exciting action for professional and aspiring professional drivers alike. 

The 2017 Lamborghini Huracán Super Trofeo remains unchanged from last year, adopting the same V10 direct injection engine mounted on the Huracán road car, managed by a Motec control unit that delivers a maximum output of 620 horsepower. The frame is a hybrid carbon/aluminum construction housing the radiator up front and the racing gearbox at the rear for aerodynamic excellence. 

There will be two 50-minute sprint races at Sepang International Circuit. Round 1 will start at 12:30 pm (MYT) Saturday, April 8, with Round 2 on Sunday at 14:10 pm. Qualifying begins at 17:50 pm on Friday April 7.

The 2016 Asia series features 12 rounds spread over six race weekends, all at iconic circuits. The first five events will showcase some of the best tracks in Asia, starting in Sepang then visiting Thailand’s Buriram International Circuit, followed by Suzuka Circuit in Japan, Fuji International Speedway in Japan and Shanghai International Circuit in China. The sixth event and final two rounds of the season will be at the Imola circuit in Italy’s Bologna region, home of Automobili Lamborghini. Here, the conclusion of the Super Trofeo Asia, Europe and North American series will converge in a world final and contest for a prized spot on the global podium. 

Lamborghini and dealers entertain VIP guests at every stop of the Lamborghini Super Trofeo Asia series with premier hospitality and fine Italian dining.

Lamborghini Super Trofeo – Asia 2017 Calendar
Sepang (MYS)        8/9 April
Buriram (THA)        20/21 May
Suzuka (JPN)        24/25 June
Fuji (JPN)             19/20 August
Shanghai (CHN)     23/24 September
Imola (ITA)            16/17 November

World Final
Imola (ITA)             18/19 November